Buried Treasure

I searched and I searched, but I couldn’t find …
……………………………………………………………………  http://youtu.be/_kLA20ZTWeg
this blog. During a classic battle with a deteriorating hard drive, I lost track of the information I needed to hook up with Wordpress. Further disasters resulted from a failure of the Carbonite backup recovery due to intermittent problems with Internet access. I stocked my new notebook computer with some old files, some software backed up on CD, and a scattering of newer files salvaged from the debris, but many items are gone forever. I have given up on most things and moved on, but I return to the struggle occasionally and this retrieval of my WordPress blog has been a rare victory

UNWORDLY is back.

To reconnect, I need to explore the origin of the name of this blog, which was chosen for two reasons.

FIRST: I have always been a “word” person. A passion for words has possessed me since I was about three years old. I love to read. I love the words as much as the characters and often more than the stories. But there is more to this life than words, and I hope to learn how to use fewer words to tell a story, and to use photos, links and videos for a wider horizon of expression.

SECOND: This title is clearly a pun on the concept of being unworldly:

un·world·ly http://img.tfd.com/m/sound.swf (n-wûrldl) – http://www.thefreedictionary.com/unworldly
adj. un·world·li·er, un·world·li·est
1. Not of this world; spiritual.
2. Concerned with matters of the spirit or soul.
3. Not wise to the ways of the world; naive: “This now is the story of an unworldly young scientist” (John Simon).
The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition copyright ©2000 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Updated in 2009. Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved.

“Worldly” was a condemnatory word in my mother’s vocabulary. In its own way, it was worse than “evil” because it was “lukewarm.” It was justification to despise someone.

So because thou art lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spew thee out of my mouth. Douay-Rheims Bible – Revelation 3-16

The ideal was to be unworldly, to be like the little children whom Jesus welcomed into his arms. And, of course, to be a conservative, evangelical Roman Catholic.

I’m not sure where that leads me. I am sufficiently naive (see definition 3) so that I can’t help but be unworldly in that sense, but will this blog be spiritual? It certainly won’t be evangelical, Roman Catholic or socially conservative.

But now I must learn how to use WordPress. I won’t say relearn, because I never learned to make use of all its capabilities to begin with, and it has changed dramatically over the last three years.

This entry was posted in explanatory and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Buried Treasure

  1. Barbara Pottie Holmes says:

    Hi, new cuz!

    I too am a word person, a little unworldly to be sure, but a lover of language. I am also a grammar freak, spelling nut, and persnickety punctuation person. A real package. Glad we have found each other!

    Barb

Leave a Reply

